SAF Announces 2021 National Award Winners

September 15, 2021

The Society of American Foresters has announced the winners of 12 national awards for 2021. The recipients will be recognized for their outstanding achievements to the forestry profession during a National Awards Meet & Greet at the virtual 2021 SAF National Convention.

Congratulations to our 2021 national award winners! Each award is listed below with the 2021 award recipient and a brief description of the award. 

2021 National Award Recipients

Barrington Moore Memorial Award in Biological Science
Linda Nagel
Recognizes outstanding achievement in biological research leading to the advancement of forestry.

Carl Alwin Schenck Award
I-Kuai Hung
Recognizes devotion and demonstrated outstanding performance in the field of forestry education.

Diversity Leadership Award
Joann Cox
Recognizes outstanding individual achievement leading to innovative and exemplary diversity and inclusion efforts.

Employer Leadership Award
Virginia Cooperative Extension
Recognizes an employer that demonstrates leadership through consistent support of employee participation in SAF and broad engagement in the profession.

Gifford Pinchot Medal
Robert Kellison
Recognizes outstanding contributions by a forestry professional in the administration, practice, and professional development of North American forestry.

John A. Beale Memorial Award
Thomas Catchpole, CF
Recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period by an SAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society.

Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award
Victor Harris
Recognizes high quality journalism that increase the American public’s understanding of forestry and natural resources.

Outstanding Local Unit Achievement Award
Snake River Chapter
Recognizes the outstanding achievement of a local unit for sustained leadership or a special project benefiting SAF, the forestry profession, and the practice of forestry.

Student Leadership Award
Trisha Nelson
Recognizes individual student achievement and leadership at the local, regional, or national level.

Technology Transfer Award
Adam Downing
Recognizes outstanding performance in the areas of technology transfer, implementation, and extension.

W. D. Hagenstein Communicator Award
Jennifer Gagnon
Recognizes an SAF member who leads innovative and exemplary communications initiatives and programs that increase the general public's understanding of forestry and natural resources.

Young Forester Leadership Award
Rebecca Barnard
Recognizes an outstanding young leader in the development and promotion of an individual program or project, or for a sustained leadership role benefiting the practice of forestry and SAF.

Learn more about SAF national awards and future nomination cycles here.