Meet SAF’s Diversity Scholars at the National Convention!

By Tony Mazza

The SAF Student Diversity Scholar program aims to intentionally bring together students from underrepresented groups in forestry and natural resources to help them navigate, grow, and thrive in the profession. With engagement opportunities throughout the year, each cohort of scholars develops leadership and networking skills and creates community among each other and the broader SAF network. In addition, awardees receive a full scholarship to the SAF National Convention.

To offer further support and guidance, each student is paired with a mentor based on their career interests and goals. Scholars and mentors work together throughout the year, but the hope is for these connections to extend beyond the year to help scholars continue to grow and learn. Past scholars have discovered employment opportunities and funding for graduate education through their mentors and their contacts. Applications to be a mentor open in the winter and close in March of the following year, so keep your eyes peeled for next year's opportunity to become a mentor!

To meet and engage with the Diversity Scholars at Convention, attend the SAF Networking Event at 9:30am PST on Friday, October 27 in Rooms 9-11. Attendees will hear briefly from SAF’s CEO, Terry Baker, and USDA Forest Service’s Rachel Reyna, will open the room for networking with Scholars. Each Scholar will tell the room about their professional interest, after which professionals like you can approach and speak with Scholars about their future goals. The more people who come, the better!

Congratulations to the 2023 Class of SAF Student Diversity Scholars, which includes 20 students from around the country! 

Tony Mazza is the Policy and Research Manager at SAF.

Stephanie Cadaval

University of Florida

Apo Skye Cyr

Green River College

Bradia Henfield 

Mississippi State University 

Jordan Carey

North Carolina State University 

Lillian Dinkins

University of Florida

Allyson Henson


Julia Chen

Yale University

Taryn Dowden

Colorado State University

Ana Marbella Monroy Jones 

Oregon State University


Louis Cimmino

University of California - Berkeley

Alexis Guillermo


Durga Josh

University of Connecticut

Cassidy McCarty

North Carolina State University 


Maggie Oliver

Purdue University

Joshua Del Rio


Kat Rowe

University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

Heaven Sanchez 

Colorado State University

Kayla Stuart

University of Tennessee - Knoxville

Tiara Walks

University of Montana 

Bryce Norling

Salish Kootenai College

Cristina Winters

California State Polytechnic University - Humboldt

Richard Green

California State Polytechnic University - Humboldt