The Ouachita Society of American Foresters sets the standard in forest management, 
bringing science, best practice, and the best people together to actively shape the future of the profession.


  • The 2021 OSAF annual meeting titled "Forestry Paradigms: Thinking Outside The Box", is scheduled for November 18th & 19th at the Kiamichi Technology Center in Idabel, OK. The Thursday schedule consists of committee meetings in the morning with the general session in the afternoon. There will be a banquet and awards presentations Thursday evening at the Museum of the Red River in Idabel. The Friday morning session will consist of reports from the state foresters and the SAF President, Division meetings, and the OSAF business meeting. This will be followed by door prizes and adjournment. Meeting cost is $75 per person if attending and $25 per person virtually. This meeting has been approved for 3 Category 1 CFE units. For more information contact OSAF Chair Jeri Irby at [email protected].

  • The Ouachita SAF had 3 members elected as Fellows in 2021. The rank of Fellow recognizes SAF members for long-standing service to SAF, the profession, and are ambassadors for the advancement of forestry. The OSAF members elected as Fellows are Karl Hansen and Larry Nance from the Arkansas Division and Randy Holeman from the Oklahoma Division. They are among 27 SAF members who were elected Fellow in 2021.

  • A continuing education opportunity for AR registered foresters is available on Tuesday August 31, 2021 at the Vines Center in Ferndale, AR. The training will be from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. with a variety of topics covered. There will be 8 Category 1 CFE credits available. Registration will $50 (by August 13th) or $60 (after August 13th). All registration will be by mail, no exceptions. Checks should be payable to AROSAF and should be mailed to Karl Hansen, 120 Resource Drive, Sheridan, AR 72150. For questions about the training contact Fred Burnett whose email address is: [email protected]
    or phone (501) 680-0013.

  • The Ouachita SAF lost a special member and friend on February 22, 2021 with the passing of Robert "Bob" Levins. Bob served for more than 40 years in the Arkansas National Guard. He earned a degree in forestry from Arkansas A&M (now the University of Arkansas-Monticello). His 50 year forestry career included management positions with Fordyce Lumber Co., Georgia-Pacific, and the Arkansas Forestry Commission. He was inducted into the Arkansas Foresters Hall of Fame and received Ouachita SAF's Lifetime Achievement Award. He was an SAF Fellow and a Golden member. He served for many years on the OSAF executive committee and was the chair of the OSAF history committee for many years. He was also active in Arkansas division and chapter events. His friendship and service will be missed greatly.

  • Tim Phelps, our District IX director has sent out a spring newsletter that is now available to read. Click on the attachment to download the newsletter then open it to view the newsletter


    Spring2021-D9 article.docx District 9 Spring newsletter

  • The OSAF annual awards presentations were done as part of the virtual annual meeting on December 11, 2020. Several individuals were recognized as award recipients. Dr. Jim Guldin was selected to be a Fellow in the SAF for 2020, Dr. Omkar Joshi received the OSAF Forestry Educator Award and also received the OSAF Forestry Science Research Award, Karl Hansen received the OSAF Volunteer Leadership Award, and Pete Prutzman received the OSAF Lifetime Achievement Award. The Arkansas Division of the OSAF recognized Dr. Jim Guldin as the recipient of the Ted Chancy Career Forester Award. The Oklahoma Division of the OSAF awarded the Ted Silker Award for foresters with less than 15 years of exemplary service to Rebekah Allen.

  • The 2020 annual meeting of the Ouachita SAF was held on December 11, 2020. Due to coronavirus safety precautions the meeting was held virtually. Despite the difficulties of 2020 the meeting was a great success. After a brief introduction and instructions at 10:00 a.m., both divisions had their business meetings separately then joined together for the OSAF business meeting. That was followed by informative presentations by Scott Huff from the Okla. Dept. of Agriculture, Food, & Forestry and Joe Fox from the state of Arkansas on the activities of their respective state agencies. Following a break, U.S. Representative Bruce Westerman from Arkansas spoke on the topic of "Forestry & Post Election Thoughts". Rep. Westerman was followed by National SAF President Tammy Cushing and National SAF CEO Terry Baker who brought those attending up to date on the status of SAF on a national scale. District IX councilman, Tim Phelps was also in attendance and updated us on items pertaining to our district. After another short break there was an awards presentation segment during which individuals from the OSAF were recognized with division and OSAF awards. The last speaker was Dr. Vic Ford who gave a thought provoking presentation on ethics. This was also an opportunity for AR registered foresters to obtain 1 hour of CE. The meeting concluded with the passing of the gavel from 2020 chair, Pete Prutzman, to 2021 chair, Jeri' Irby. The meeting then adjourned. Despite the fact that a virtual annual meeting had never been attempted by the OSAF, it had to be considered an overwhelming success. At times there were as many as 52 individuals logged into the meeting and the slate of speakers was outstanding considering that there was a U.S. Representative, our district IX councilman, the current SAF President, and the current SAF CEO participating. OSAF chair, Pete Prutzman and his committee did a great job in putting together the meeting even though it was a first for the OSAF to be virtual at the annual meeting. We also owe a big thanks to Dr. Vic Ford and his assistants that made arrangements to host the meeting.

  • Many of the documents which show the activities of the OSAF since it was formed are now stored in the Arkansas Archives. These documents may be searched at Archives.Arkansas.Gov. Searching this site will not allow you to see the actual documents, it will only let you know what is available. Actual documents may only be viewed in person. Thanks go to Bob Levins and Robert McFarland as chairmen of the OSAF History Committee for preserving those documents which describe the history of our society. Any questions regarding historical documents of the OSAF should be directed to Robert McFarland.

  • If you are interested in subscribing to receive Arkansas Division OSAF information, please send your email request to [email protected] .