Nominations for 2021 Awards are Closed!

National Awards Program

Through our 15 national awards, and Fellow and Presidential Field Forester awards, SAF honors scientists, researchers, educators, innovators, leaders, communicators, field foresters, employers, local SAF units, and others that have made significant impact on forestry in the United States and internationally.

To view available awards, scroll down and visit the specific award page for descriptions. 

Nominations for 2021 are closed.

Nominations for the 2022 awards cycle will open in January and are due March 15.

If the deadline falls on a weekend or holiday, nominations will be accepted the next business day.

How to Submit Your Nomination

SAF has transitioned to an online process for award nomination submissions to provide a better user experience and to streamline the process. 

All National Awards, Fellows, and Presidential Field Forester nominations are submitted through an online portal. Award nominations for 2021 are now closed, but to explore the online portal, click on the "Awards Portal" button below and enter your SAF username and password.

Award nominations for 2022 will open in January and close March 15, so check back next year to submit a nomination.

Questions? Email [email protected].


One of the highest honors for members of the Society, the rank of Fellow is an exceptional recognition bestowed on a member by his or her peers for outstanding contributions and service to the SAF and the profession.

Forest Science and Technology Awards

Award in Forest Science

The Award in Forest Science recognizes distinguished individual research in any branch of the quantitative, managerial, and/or social sciences that has resulted in substantial advances in forestry.

Barrington Moore Memorial Award in Biological Science

The Barrington Moore Memorial Award recognizes outstanding achievement in biological research leading to the advancement of forestry.

Technology Transfer Award

The Technology Transfer Award recognizes outstanding performance in the areas of technology transfer, implementation and extension.

Communications Awards

Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award

The Outstanding Forestry Journalism Award recognizes high quality journalistic coverage of topics that increase the American public's understanding of forestry and natural resources.

W. D. Hagenstein Communicator Award

The Hagenstein Communicator Award recognizes an SAF member who leads innovative and exemplary communications initiatives and programs that increase the general public's understanding of forestry and natural resources.

Leadership Awards

Diversity Leadership Award

The Diversity Leadership Award recognizes outstanding individual achievement leading to innovative and exemplary diversity and inclusion efforts.

Outstanding Local Unit Achievement Award

The Outstanding Local Unit Achievement Award recognizes the outstanding achievement of a local unit for sustained leadership or a special project benefiting SAF, the forestry profession, and the practice of forestry.

Employer Leadership Award

The Employer Leadership Award recognizes an employer that demonstrates leadership through consistent support of employee participation in SAF and broad engagement in the profession.

Student Leadership Award

The Student Leadership Award recognizes individual student achievement and leadership at the local, regional, or national level.

Professional Development Awards

Carl Alwin Schenck Award

The Carl Alwin Schenck Award recognizes devotion and demonstrated outstanding performance in the field of forestry education.

Gifford Pinchot Medal

The Gifford Pinchot Medal recognizes outstanding contributions by a forestry professional in the administration, practice, and professional development of North American Forestry.

Honorary Membership

The Honorary Membership Award recognizes individuals whose contributions to forestry are viewed as outstanding by their peers.

John A. Beale Memorial Award

The John A. Beale Memorial Award recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period of time by an SAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society.

Sir William Schlich Memorial Award

The Sir William Schlich Memorial Award recognizes broad and outstanding contributions to the field of forestry with emphasis on, but not limited to, policy and national or international activities.

Young Forester Leadership Award

The Young Forester Leadership Award recognizes outstanding leadership by a young forestry professional in the development and promotion of an individual program or project, or for a sustained leadership role benefiting the practice of forestry and the Society.

Presidential Field Forester Awards

The Presidential Field Forester Awards recognize foresters who have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry on the ground using sound, scientific methods and adaptive management strategies.The awards are presented to individuals who have displayed uncommon talent, skill, and innovative methods to achieve a record of excellence in the application of forest management.

Outstanding SAF Student Chapter Award

The Outstanding SAF Student Chapter Award recognizes the outstanding SAF student chapter in the nation and its faculty representative during an academic year. Three student chapters are recognized annually during the SAF National Convention. The first place student chapter will receive a $500 honorarium. All three student chapters will be recognized in The Forestry Source. The school's department head and/or dean, the university president, and the SAF faculty representative will receive notification of the award.